food

Madeleines

Yet again, a week has gone by with very little crafting and altogether too much work. However, I did manage to sneak into Birmingham to watch Carlos Acosta dance on his ‘Classical Farewell’ tour. And gosh and darn, he is a handsome man. YUM YUM. Obviously, the dancing was quite good too.

I wanted to do some making this week however so last night I whipped up a new madeleine batter (it had honey in, this is what made it new) and put it in the fridge to ‘rest’ overnight. I don’t know why batter needs to rest; I am the one with shaky wrists after holding a handmix for five minutes. They are French of course, so perhaps ‘resting’ is par for the course.

I haven’t had much luck with madeleines in the past. I don’t know what it is about them. The patience required? The dedication to whisking? That you can buy tasty ones in a shop? Whatever it is, I cannot seem to get them right.

However, this morning, success appeared.

2016-05-08 10.18.33

Please ignore the bits of pancake batter on my hob from yesterday. Husband and I take weekend breakfasts in turns but less fun things (like cleaning) get left to Sunday night.

I was very pleased with these madeleines. Firstly, they actually look like madeleines. Secondly, they taste like madeleines. Big plus.

Have a close up:

2016-05-08 10.18.48

Yep, definitely a madeleine.

I buttered and dusted the whole surface of the pan as per the recipe which was a good plan because I put too much batter in each thingy the first time and ended up with twelve madeleine shaped bumps in one ENORMOUS madeleine. Not that that is necessarily a bad thing, but it wasn’t what I was going for.

The thing that has caught me out previously with these was timing. There is the ‘crispy round the edges’ madeleine and then there is the ‘I think I had better make a trifle’ moment. But this time, no such problems. Beautiful timing.

I even managed to get the little nipple thing on top (they are FRENCH. It is indisputably a nipple):

2016-05-08 10.21.13

We had them with fruit, yoghurt and coffee (obviously in separate utensils) and they were Very Fine.

Next time I might even push the boat out and add orange zest or almonds.

Zut alors!

Leave a Reply

