baby stuff · crafty projects

Discworld mobile

A little while ago, some delightful friends had a delightful baby and named her after a witch in Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series. Regular readers will remember that, an even littler while ago, I made a witch hat for said baby and, to continue with this theme, I have just finished a mobile. The baby is now really more of a toddler, but hopefully we can hang a mobile high enough that she won’t chew it….

I decided on a selection of four characters: Granny Weatherwax, Nanny Ogg, Tiffany Aching and Magrat Garlick.

I do realise that traditionally witches travel in threes, but the witches of Discworld are not conventional in many ways, so I didn’t think they would mind being a four. Plus a cat. That Greebo can get in anywhere.

2016-05-01 13.34.59

Once I had finished him, I realised that OF COURSE his left eye is the green one and his right is white and scarred. However, I was so pleased with the facial expression I had achieved that I decided to leave it and apologise to both Mr Pratchett and Greebo in my head continuously.

I drew up a similar face/torso template for Tiffany, Granny and Magrat, but Nanny Ogg is definitively round so she required a different shape. Granny had to be all in black, even though her cloak then obscures her dress shape a bit:

I think Granny would quite like this. It would make her look more frightening, which is useful for keeping others in line. Not that there are head witches you understand, but if there were…

Nanny Ogg needed colours that have traditionally been associated with boisterous women: black, red and purple. As she herself says in her excellent cookbook:

Anyway, we do not live in a perfect world and it is foresighted and useful for a young woman to become proficient in those arts which will keep a weak-willed man from straying. Learning to cook is also useful.”

Nanny is my favourite character. She is very jolly and knows many naughty songs and I feel she and I would get on monstrously well. Greebo is, of course, her cat:


While I am self-aware enough to realise I am  mostly like Nanny Ogg, there is a part of me that thinks Tiffany Aching is the coolest witch around. I mean, who doesn’t want to be a kelda, even just for a short while? Best job in the world.

Perhaps it is not so clear in my terrible photos but I made her hat out of glittery felt as she has a very special witch hat. Don’t know what I am talking about? Then READ THE BOOKS. They are awesome.

And finally, Magrat. She goes from being a wet blanket (in my opinion) to a pretty kick-ass queen, but ‘flowers in her hair’ is pretty much the way she rolls:

2016-05-01 13.34.48

Fortunately I had some tiny flower beads so I think Magrat turned out quite well.

I put them all onto different kinds of ribbon that best suited their personality, so there isn’t a lot of unit cohesion but that’s witches for you. Don’t try telling them to fall in line. Not unless you want to have a very difficult, very short life.

20160811_211140

Sorry for the blurry photo. In my defense, it was very late at night when I took it and I was holding the camera at a funny angle so I didn’t cast a shadow. Also, I am not good at photos.

I did consider putting You, Granny’s kitten, on there as well, but I was a bit worried about putting her in Greebo’s vicinity. For his safety. Seriously, read the books.

Anyway, for those people uncertain of the appropriateness of putting witches on a baby mobile, please bear the following in mind:

“A witch ought never to be frightened in the darkest forest, Granny Weatherwax had once told her, because she should be sure in her soul that the most terrifying thing in the forest was her.”

Wintersmith Terry Pratchett

And who else could be more qualified to watch over a baby than the thing (or in this case, things) that would scare away whatever goes bump in the night?

 

Leave a Reply

